Arts club

3 Upper Fitzwilliam Street, Dublin 2

Season 2010/11

Thursday,23rd September

Martin and Ursula win
Mixed Pairs competition

Martin Brady and Ursula Devine are the winners of the first major competition of the new
season the mixed pairs competition.

Martin and Ursula won the second session to finish in style ahead of the field.
The competition was run smoothly by Brian Lawlor.

Final Result :-
Martin Brady Ursula Devine from
Hilary Moran Joe Dolan second
Wojciech Gorczyca Ruth ODea third

1st Session Joe Walsh Sandra Newell
2nd Session Cathy and Steve Bearpark
Best Area Master Barbara Walsh Maurice O Leary

Martin Brady Ursula Devine

2nd Place :-
Joe Dolan Hilary Moran
3rd Place :-
Ruth ODea Wojciech Gorczyca
Area Masters :-
Barbara Walsh Maurice O Leary
2nd Session :-
Steve and Cathy Bearpark

Thursday,14th October

Gerry and Michael hang on to win
Rose Gibson competition

The second major competition of the new season the Rose Gibson had a really close finish with only 0.1 Matchpoints
seperating the top two pairs after two nights (every trick counts)!!!
with third place also very close

Final Result :-
Gerry Kelly Michael O Brien from
Anna Onishuk Karel DeRaeymaker second
Marcin Rudzinski Michael McAuliffe third

1st Session
2nd Session
Best Area Master
Dave Mulhall Michael Smyth
Maurice O Leary Aidan Hodgers
Hilary Moran Joe Dolan

Michael O Brien Gerry Kelly
2nd Place :-
Karel DeRaeymaker Anna Onishuk
3rd Place :-
Marcin Rudzinski Michael McAuliffe

Area Masters :-
Aidan Hodgers Maurice O Leary
2nd Session :-
Hilary Moran Joe Dolan


Monday 18th November

Noreen O Connor Teams
Final Result

The final night of the Noreen O Connor Teams produced an exciting finish but despite a very
strong result by last weeks leaders they were unable to hold on and eventually had to finish
runners up to a very strong team.
The competition was smoothly run by Brian Lawlor.

Final Result :-

Paul Delaney Sean O Lubaigh Ronan McMaugh Marcin Rudzinski from

Joe Walsh Peter Stewart Eileen O Donovan and Wojciech Gorczyca second
Anna Onishuk Karel DeRaeymaker Norbert Van Woerkom Justin Corfield third
2nd Session
Gerry Kelly Patricia Kelly Martin Brady Ursula Devine
Noreen10 Winners

Winning Team:-
Marcin Rudzinski Ronan McMaugh Sean O Lubaigh Paul Delaney

Noreen 2nd Noreen 3rd
2nd Place :-
Peter Stewart Wojciech Gorczyca Eileen O Donovan
Joe Walsh
3rd Place :-
Justin Corfield Norbert Van Woerkom Karel DeRaeymaker Anna Onishuk

Noreen session
2nd Session:-
Martin Brady Ursula Devine Gerry Kelly Patricia Kelly

Thursday 20th January

Ladies and Mens Pairs

The Ladies and Mens pairs competition concluded with the following result

Ladies Pairs

Anna Onishuk and Mary Lindopp from
Gilda Pender Ann Marie Carroll
Helen Carroll and Ann Hanratty third
1st Session Frances Kelly Eileen O Donovan
2nd Session Deirdre Reid Patricia Kelly
Area Master Betty Murphy Hilary Moran

Mary + Anna
Winning Ladies:-
Mary Lindopp Anna Onishuk

Gilda +Ann Marie Deirdre + Patricia
2nd Place :-
Gilda Pender Ann Marie Carroll
2nd Session :-
Deirdre Reid Patricia Kelly

Mens Pairs
Martin Brady Colm O Driscoll
Terry Walsh Peter Goodman
Marcin Rudzinski Michael McAuliffe third

1st Session John Kelly Noel Minogue
2nd Session Liam Maher Christy Tierney
Area Master Gerry Lawlor Jim Mullally

Martin + Colm
Winning Mens Pair :-
Martin Brady Colm O Driscoll

Terry + Peter Marcin + Michael
2nd Place :-
Terry Walsh Peter Goodman
3rd Place :-
Marcin Rudzinski Michael McAuliffe

Thursday 14th April

Joe McHale Mixed Teams
Final Result

A close and very exciting finish resulted in a tie between the top two teams in this years
Joe McHale mixed teams
Joe Walsh's team who led from the start proved to be deserving and very popular winners on the split tie
from Terry Walsh's team

The Winners :-
Joe Walsh John Reilly Jackie McBride Bettina Stefanini from
Colm O Driscoll Sandra Newell Terry Walsh Brid Kemple
Ita Fahy Liam Maher Gerry Kelly Patricia Kelly third

Second Session
Steve Bearpark Cathy Bearpark Wojciech Gorczyca Mary Stanley

McHale winners
Winning Team:-
Joe Walsh Bettina Stefanini Jackie McBride John Reilly

Friday 6th May

Bankers Golf Outing
Our annual golf outing this year was held @ Castleknock Golf Club
This wonderful golf course presented a tough but fair challenge to all.
Liam Maher who was the bookies favourite this year finally got his hand on this
much coveted trophy

The Winners :-
Liam Maher from
Kieran McGarry second
Gerry Lawlor third

Winning Team :-
Liam Maher John Kelly Tony Dooley Patricia Blaney

Ann + Liam
Winning Golfer-
Liam Maher receives his trophy from Ann Hanratty

Thursday 2nd June

Presidents Prize
Week 5

Week five of our President Gerry Lawlor's prize.
A superb seventeen tables were in action for the final night of the Presidents prize.
Some really tricky hands and a marvelous score of over 71% by the winning East West pair
Sean O Lubaigh and Paul Delaney made for a great nights entertainment.
Despite our best effort no one was able to catch our leader
Marcin Rudzinski
who had
too much of a lead for us to overhaul, so he becomes a very worthy winner of this years prize.

Overall Winners :-
Marcin Rudzinski from
Mary Lindopp second
Ita Fahy third
Intermediate overall Winner
Betty Murphy

Marcin Rudzinski
Marcin Rudzinski

Mary Lindopp Ita Fahy
2nd Place Overall :-
Mary Lindopp
3rd Place :-
Ita Fahy

Thursday,9th June

Gerry Lawlor is re-elected President
at our A.G.M.

Bankers President
Gerry Lawlor

The Bankers Bridge club got the new season underway with its A.G.M.
Outgoing Bankers President Gerry Lawlor starts his second term after this years A.G.M
Gerry thanked his outgoing fellow officers Bettina Steffanini and Maura Lawlor for all their work and effort during their very successful time as Secretary and Treasurer he also thanked all his outgoing committee and all of the members who helped with the running of the club and wished everyone well for the new season

Gerry reflected on a very successful year for the club and its members who won numerous
national competitions throughout the year, he also thanked all members who supported the
club during the year We wish them well