Arts club

3 Upper Fitzwilliam Street, Dublin 2

Season 2012/13

Thursday 30th Aug

Nolan Memorial Teams
The first major competition of the season the Nolan Memorial Teams saw
Bettina Stefanini & Noel Minogue + Anna Onishuk & Peter Clifford charge through the field
with a huge second session
to take the title.
A bad night for first round leaders
Hilary Moran Michael Smyth Paul Hanratty Liam Maher who could only manage to finish fourth.

The Winners :-
Bettina Stefanini & Noel Minogue + Anna Onishuk & Peter Clifford
Donal Dunne Patricia Blaney Peter Stewart Joe Walsh second

Gerry Kelly & Maurice O'Leary + Frances Kelly & Alfie Sexton third

2nd Session
Sheila Horkan & Barbara Walsh + Mary Lindopp & Dave Mulhall

Nolan Winners

Winning Team:-
Noel Minogue Bettina Stefanini Peter Clifford with Bankers President Hilary Moran (Missing Anna Onishuk)

Second Third
2nd Place :-
Joe Walsh Peter Stewart Donal Dunne Patricia Blaney
3rd Place :-
Gerry Kelly Alfie Sexton Frances Kelly Maurice O Leary


2nd Session winners :-
Mary Lindopp Sheila Horkan Dave Mulhall Barbara Walsh

Thursday 20th Sept

Mixed Pairs

The final night of the Mixed Pairs competition saw Terry Walsh and Brid Kemple
hold their nerve and the lead to win this years mixed pairs

The Winners :-
Brid Kemple and Terry Walsh from
Ruth O Dea & Kieran McGarry second
Helen Carroll Marcin Rudzinski

First Session
Sheila Horkan Joe Walsh
Second Session

Roisin Troy Joe Dolan
Area Master
Hilary Moran Mike Gowie

Terry + Brid
Winning Pair:-
Terry Walsh & Brid Kemple with Bankers President Hilary Moran

Ruth + Kieran Helen + Marcin
2nd Place :-
Kieran McGarry Ruth O Dea
3rd Place :-
Helen Carroll Marcin Rudzinski

Thursday 18th Oct

Rose Gibson Pairs

Karel de Raeymaeker and Anna Onishuk are the winners of the Rose Gibson trophy this year.
They successfully held off all challengers to retain the trophy they won last year

The Winners :-
Karel de Raeymaker Anna Onishuk from
Martin Brady
& Marcin Rudzinski second
Sandra Newell & Mary Stanley third

First Session Paul Delaney & Sean O Lubaigh
Second Session Joe Walsh & Dave Mulhall
Area Master Rita Delaney & John O'Mara
Best Inter John Reilly & Jackie McBride

Karl + Anna
Karel de Raeymaker
and Anna Onishuk

Marcin + Martin Mary + Sandra
2nd Place :-
Marcin Rudzinski & Martin Brady
3rd Place :-
Mary Stanley & Sandra Newell


Thursday 22nd November

Noreen O Connor Teams

This week we had the final of the Noreen O Connor teams, a super second session
of 132 points for six rounds swept our winners to victory.
Some excellent hands and smooth running by Tournament director John Royds led to a very enjoyable event

The Winners :-
Sean O'Lubaigh, Paul Delaney, Marcin Rudzinski Ronan McMaugh from
Sandra Newell, Gilda Pender, Michael McAuliffe, Wojciech Gorcycza second
Martin Brady Ita Fahy Gerry Kelly Patricia Kelly third

Second Session
Brid Kemple Cathy Bearpark Terry Walsh James Heneghan

Area Master
Sheila Horkan Barbara Walsh Carol Hawkins Robert Kicior

Hilary Moran Mike Gowie Francoise McBrien Pascale Wolfe

Noreen 12
Winning Team:-
Ronan McMaugh Paul Delaney Hilary Moran (President) Marcin Rudzinski Sean O Lubaigh

Noreen 2nd Sandra Gilda
2nd Place :-
Michael McAuliffe Wojciech Gorcycza
Sandra Newell Gilda Pender
3rd Place :-
Patricia Kelly Ita Fahy Martin Brady & Gerry Kelly
Carol Barbara Sheila Intermediate
Area Master :-
Robert Kicior Sheila Horkan Barbara Walsh Carol Hawkins
Intermediate :-
Hilary Moran Pascale Wolfe Francoise McBrien Mike Gowie

Thursday 24th January

Ladies and Mens Pairs

The final week of the Ladies and Men's pairs proved a very interesting affair
The ladies pairs was very close with only two matchpoints separating the top two pairs.
An excellent result in the Men's pairs for
Dave Mulhall & Kieran McGarry
who extended
their lead at the top to win the event

The Winners Ladies Pairs :-
Ursula Devine & Mary Stanley from
Ann Hanratty & Helen Carroll second

1st Session
Ann Fitzgerald & Frances Kelly
2nd Session Ita Fahy & Mary Lindopp

Area Master
Barbara Walsh & Sheila Horkan
Intermediate Prize Pascale Wolfe & Francoise McBrien

The Winners Mens Pairs :-
Dave Mulhall & Kieran McGarry
Ronan McMaugh Thomas McCormac second

1st Session Noel Minogue & John Kelly
2nd Session Paul Delaney & Dave Ryan
Intermediate Prize Gerry & Malone Gerry Tracey

Dave Mary Ursula Kieran
Dave Mulhall Mary Stanley Ursula Devine Kieran McGarry

Thursday 25th April

Joe McHale Memorial
Mixed teams

The final of the Joe McHale Memorial produced a superb result for our winners who had a second session average of over 21 victory points per round.
Very well done to
Aoife MacHale & Peter Goodman, Michael McAuliffe & Sandra Newell for a
super session which swept them past everyone.

The Winners :-
Aoife MacHale & Peter Goodman, Michael McAuliffe & Sandra Newell from
Martin Brady & Ita Fahy, Mary Stanley & Peter Stewart
Steve Bearpark, Cathy Bearpark, Frances Kelly & Alfie Sexton third

Second Session
David Dunne & Sheila Kelly ,Gerry Lawlor & Maura Lawlor
Area Master
John O'Mara & Carmel Armstrong, Brideen Downes & Joe Dolan

Aoife Peter Michael Sandra
Winning Team:-
Sandra Newell Michael McAuliffe Aoife McHale & Peter Goodman

Ita Martin Peter Mary Gerry Maura Dave Sheila
2nd Place :-
Mary Stanley, Peter Stewart Ita Fahy Martin Brady
2nd Session:-
Gerry Lawlor Sheila Kelly David Dunne Maura Lawlor

Thursday 30th May

Presidents Prize
Week Five
The final week of our Presidents prize had
fourteen tables in play run smoothly by Martin Brady

Another excellent week for our leader David Dunne this time finishing second to easily claim this years prize
David also wins this months Grand prix prize
Well done David.

Second overall was Marcin Rudzinski
Third overall Brendan Curran
Best Intermediate Sheila Kelly

Hilary + David
Overall Winner:-
David Dunne receives his prize from Bankers President Hilary Moran

Friday 7th June

Golf Outing
The members this year were blessed with a beautiful day for our annual golf outing held
this year in

Castleknock Golf Club
This year for the first time we had a tie for first place but won on count back by
Gerry Lawlor from Liam Maher with Betty Murphy third

Winning Team
Betty Murphy Gerry Lawlor & Brendan Curran from
Eileen O Donovan Patricia Blaney & Tony Dooley second
Ann Hanratty Jim McAndrew & Kieran McGarry third

Gerry + Ann
Overall Winner:-
Gerry Lawlor receives his prize from Ann Hanratty

Golf Team
Winning Team:-
Gerry Lawlor Betty Murphy & Brendan Curran